Danzan Ryu Jujitsu Martial Arts Class located in the City of Rocklin, CA

Koryukan Jujitsu School Class Handout Links Contact
Koryukan Jujitsu School American Jujitsu Institute
History of Jujitsu and Danzan Ryu Danzan Ryu Media Schedule and Contact
Koryukan Jujitsu School - Rocklin, CA
History of Jujitsu
History of Danzan Ryu
American Jujitsu Institute

The AJI was created in 1939 by Professor Henry Seishiro Okazaki, The organization was initially known as the America Jujitsu Guild. It's first president was Charles Wagner. After the attack on Pearl Harbor, the Hombu was closed by the authorities. A senior student, William Ah Moo, succeeded in convincing the military authorities to allow training to continue and the Hombu was reopened. During the same period, Professor Okazaki was interned twice.

The name of the organization was changed to the American Jujitsu Institute in 1943. The AJI was officially incorporated on July 29, 1947 in the Territory of Hawaii. A new constitution was drawn. It's president at the time was Dr. A.M. Glover. Professor Okazaki was the honorary president. Charter members included Professors Jack Wheat and Wally Jay. It's officers at the time are listed on official documents as:

  • Henry S. Okazaki Honorary President
  • A. M. Glover President
  • Juan D. Gomez Vice-President and Director
  • Henry O. Pfaender Secretary and Director
  • John K. Cahill Auditor and Director
  • William Ah Moo Director
  • Marion W. Anderson Director
  • Clay Bishaw Director
  • Jack Wheat Director
  • Wallace Jay Director (Wally Jay)
  • Shozo Yamamoto Director
  • Isami Shishido Director
  • Siegfried Kufferath Director
  • Joseph Choy Director
  • Jerome Tarutani Director

Copyright © 2007-2011 Jason Spencer